U/16 Hurling County Semi-Final

Under 16 Hurling Championship Semi-Final Saturday 13th September 2014

Kilmallock 4-11 Patrickswell 2-9

Kilmallock went into this game forced to start without three of their regular starting fifteen and facing a hotly-fancied Patrickswell side. Not too many would have predicted that we would go in at half-time leading 3-5 to 1-5 and it was a lead that we very much deserved. Ciaran O’Connor, named at centre-back, lined out at full-forward and was the tormentor-in-chief of the Patrickswell defence bagging two goals in the opening half. David Woulfe scored a third goal from a long way out after good work in mid-field by Cal McCarthy. Danny Conway also had a great opening half, latching on to the breaking ball that O’Connor was creating and Conway struck over two points from distance that had the Kilmallock crowd on their feet.

In the second half Patrickswell tried hard to get back into the game but with the outstanding Cal McCarthy and David Woulfe in the middle of the field we were never going to let this slip. Everything that the ‘Well threw at us was dealt with by our back-line. The six backs were top class on the day and our full-back, Josh Cahill, led by example with his no-nonsense style of hurling. Ciaran O’Connor struck again, for his third goal midway through the half and put us in the driving seat as we headed for the final whistle.

This was a true team performance . This game was won by each man winning his own battle with his opposite number but the leadership of Cal McCarthy, the power of Ciaran O’Connor, the skill of Danny Conway, the determination of Josh Cahill, the craft of Andrew Finn, the honesty of Aidan Enright  and the work-rate of David Woulfe deserve special mention.

Team : Jason Enright, Liam Fitzgerald, Josh Cahill, Andrew Finn, Aidan Enright, Ciaran O’Connor(3-1), Martin Farrell(0-1), Cal McCarthy(0-2), David Woulfe(1-0), David Carroll, Michael Donegan(0-1), Liam English(0-1), Danny Conway(0-2), Gearoid Barry(0-1), Joseph O’Donnell.

Substitutes : Lorcan Casey(0-1), Dylan Walsh, Padraig O’Connor(0-1), David O’Connor, Thomas Savage, Sean Donegan, Dylan O’Brien, Jack Barry, Anthony Barrett.

Team Management : Donal Barry, Bernie Savage, Jimmy Savage, Pat Barrett, John Woulfe.


U/16 Hurling 2014
U/16 Hurling 2014

Back row: Danny Conway, Liam English, Mikey Donegan, David Carroll, Dylan Walsh, Liam Fitzgerald, Joe O’Donnell, Jason Enright, Martin Farrell, Lorcan Casey, David Woulfe, David O’Connor, Timmy Roche.

Front row: Cal McCarthy, Dylan O’Brien, Shaun Donegan, Aidan Enright, Josh Cahill, Ciaran O’Connor, Padraig O’Connor, Andrew Finn, Thomas Savage, Gearoid Barry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *