Senior Hurling South Final 2014

Senior Hurling South Final 2014  – Saturday 23rd August in Bruff 6:45 p.m.

Kilmallock 2-22   Croom 1-11

Kilmallock fielded a strong team to contest this year’s South Final against Croom on Saturday evening and had this game wrapped up before half-time as Croom struggled to deal with the obvious gulf in class. Eoin Ryan was again faultless from the placed-ball and his mid-field partner Paudie O’Brien tagged on two points to extend our lead to 0-9 to Croom’s two points mid-way through the first half. When Graeme Mulcahy raised a green flag late in the half there was never going to be any doubt about the winners. At half-time the score was Kilmallock 1-13 Croom 0-2.

Croom, to their credit, came out fighting in the second half and made an attempt to close the gap on the scoreboard. They managed to outscore Kilmallock in the second period but points from Gavin O’Mahony and Aaron Costello, Jake Mulcahy and Liam Walsh ensured that we kept the scores ticking over. Jake Mulcahy tapped in our second goal after a mistake from the Croom goalkeeper and this ended the hopes of the opposition.

Graeme Mulcahy accepted the South Cup from Hugh Murphy, who also presented Eoin Ryan with the Man of the Match Award.

Team : Barry Hennessy, Liam Hurley, Mark O’Loughlin, John Meade, Liam Walsh(0-1) Kevin O’Donnell, Donal Barry, Eoin Ryan(0-11, 8 frees), Paudie O’Brien(0-2), Robbie Egan, Gavin O’Mahony(0-2), Aaron Costello(0-1), Graeme Mulcahy, Captain (1-2), Jake Mulcahy(1-3), Benny Burke.

Subs : Kieran Kenneally for Walsh; Andrew O’Shaughnessy for Burke.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *