Senior Hurling Championship Sunday 11th May 2014

Senior Hurling Championship       Sunday 11th May 2014     (Dromcollogher 7 p.m.)

Kilmallock 1-21       Granagh/Ballingarry 2-10

Trailing by a single point at half-time we welcomed the half-time whistle as it gave us the time-out that we needed to get everyone together and discuss what was needed in the following thirty minutes to overturn a dogged, stylish Granagh/Ballingarry side. Playing against the slope and a stiff breeze in the opening half we found scores hard to come by and when Granagh/Ballingarry lashed in a goal after fifteen minutes alarm bells were ringing. Three points from Gavin O’Mahony, operating at wing-forward, kept us in touch and a free from Eoin Ryan left just one between the teams at the break.

Kilmallock were out first for the second half eager to get on with it and from the whistle we set about turning things around. Points from Graeme Mulcahy, Jake Mulcahy, Eoin Ryan and Paudi O’Brien pushed us ahead and at the other end our back-line kept the Granagh/Ballingarry attacks to a minimum. With ten minutes of the half played Graeme Mulcahy put daylight between the teams with a well-worked goal. The goal allowed us to hurl with more confidence and points from Paudi O’Brien, Robbie Egan, Aaron Costello,Jake and Graeme Mulcahy pushed us clear. Liam Walsh, at half-back, topped a very creditable display, with a monstrous point from centre-field and on the sideline, as the clock ticked down. In the dying seconds Granagh/Ballingarry stole in for their second goal, that took some of the gloss off the final scoreline but all in all the supporters in Dromcollogher last Sunday night were pleased enough with what they saw.

The Kilmallock line-up was Barry Hennessy, Liam Hurley, Mark O’Loughlin, John Meade, Liam Walsh (0-1), Philip O’Loughlin, Kevin O’Donnell, Paudie O’Brien (0-2), Aaron Costello (0-1), Robbie Egan (0-2), Graeme Mulcahy, Capt. (1-5), Gavin O’Mahony (0-4), Andrew O’Shaughnessy, Eoin Ryan (0-3, 2 frees), Jake Mulcahy (0-3).
Subs : Benni Burke for O’Shaughnessy 45mins, Derek O’Mahony for Ryan 50 mins, Owen Webb O’Rourke, Conor Staunton, Donnagha Higgins, Stephen Quirke, David Barry, Conor Barry, Donal Barry, Kevin Roche, Mark Hayes, John Mike Manning, Thomas English, Dan Joy, Kevin O’Mahony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *